Articles

delhi to mirthal and life in a army cantt…

In travel on April 1, 2008 by rajeev kumar

the blog entry for this trip was due since long so before I forget about this here it is …

the journey was comfortable. Searching for mirthal on internet gives me following information – 

  • a train accident in 2004
  • the fact that alexander retreated from this place owing to his soldiers mutinying and refusing to proceed further
  • beas river enters the punjab plain near mirthal.

mirthal cantt was a small, clean and peaceful place as other army areas. The only sign of turbulence was one of the roads used by civilians was chaotic due to shivratri fair at a ancient temple in nearby Kathgarh. Later in the day we also visited that temple which is at the confluence of Beas and Choch river. This is the same place from where Alexander retreated.

For an outsider the high points were people giving a disciplined salute everywhere in the cantt, the traffic being stopped to make way for your vehicle. Obeying orders without any question or expression. The officers mess was also a different place to visit due to the history and the traditions it has and the mannerism which is better than any star hotels. You cannot enter few areas without proper dress code. The beer glasses were of  silver with all past commanding officers name engraved on them. The lunch there was good and overall it was a very relaxed day…

next posts : YOL camp, dharamshala and mcleodganj

17 Responses to “delhi to mirthal and life in a army cantt…”

  1. Dear Rajeev,

    It is really great to know that you knew so much about mirthal, where i spent my two years of childhood. My father was posted at mirthal army base (i don’t remember the unit address) way back in year 1981-83. I did my 10th and 12th class from AF KV No.1 Pathankot. Presently, a serving Naval Officer, I got so touched and pampered with your article that i have decided to visit the place with my family alongwith my mother.

    May i request you to give the address of army unit with telephone/ fax no. etc at mirthal to establish communication and visit the Officer’s mess for a day or two to refresh my old good memories.

    An early reply will attract my sincere appreciation.

    Regards

    Rakesh Gosain

  2. Hi Rakesh,

    Feels good to know that you liked the writeup. My in laws are staing in Mirthal, I will give them their details in your mail ID which you have used during commenting. They are currently out of mirthal and expected to be back after 24th. They will surely help you around the place.

    Rajeev

  3. hi there, was nice reading thru this..i am planning a short getaway there and i am an x naval officer…kindly give me the address and telephone number of the army base at mcleodganj

  4. Hi
    i am Pankaj 32 and i belong to mirthal. my family runs a small school there. i am a scientist in food tech. at present i am working at dav college jalandhar as senior lecturer.
    i will mail u.
    pankaj

  5. HI all my frnds,
    i belongs to a village nearby mirthal.i m bechlor in electrnonics and communication engg. and now persuing mba frm london.may be i knew pankaj bro coz i studied in ur small school.

  6. HI RAKESH
    I AM PRESENTLY SERVING WITH UNITED NATIONS MISSION IN SUDAN. I HAVE SEVERAL SWEET MEMORIES ABOUT MY SMALL AND SWEET TOWN WHERE I COMPLETED MY 8TH STANDARD BEFORE PROCEEDING FOR FURTHER STUDY AT PATHANKOT. I AM STILL IN TOUCH OF CITY AS I DO HAVE MANY FRIENDS. EVERY TIME DURING ON LEAVE I PAY SEVERAL VISITS THERE WITH MY FAMILY. I STILL REMEMBER THE DAYS WHEN WE CAME TO SCHOOL BY FOOT WITH MY YOUNGER BROTHER AND FRIENDS.

  7. HI VE THINKER
    COULD U GIVE ME THE INFORMATION WHO U AND FROM WHICH VILLAGE U BELONGS. I AM FROM DHAKI VILLAGE.SO MIRTHAL IS ALWAYS A SPECIAL FOR ME.THANKS

  8. hi
    i m happy singh. i belongs to a village called taki(chak chimna)near by mirthal.
    i studied in mirthal and school name was janta model .as one Mr. pankaj mentioned it was their school and he was senior to me.now i settled in bangalore
    and running my small business.i do visit mirthal ones in a yrs.

  9. hiii …friends this is kamal I belong to Mirthal . i spend my childhood and grew up in this wonderfull place, its a small village but has educated, enthusiastic and hardworking people.People of this villageare serving not only India in different fields as like as army , teaching ,navy and so many others , but also mirthalians reached to foreign countries and well setteled there hence contributing to nation indirectly. Love my village

  10. Hallo happy sir & pankaj iam laddi happy imeet with shamsher this year pankaj inot meet u very long time

  11. Hi,friend’s most of u know me very much,i belong’s to that family which has a long history at village mirthal.My respected ancester’s were ruler of a dyansty at kotla fort near nurpur himachal pardesh.In 1807 a.d maharaja ranjit singh of punjab state defeated us ,then he alloted a jagir of 27 villages at mirthal.Mirthal fort was made of mud (mitti ki garhi)and people of near by villages used to repair by mud.With the time jagir was finished by britisher.Then my ancestor start serving in british army,one of most renewned officer of my family is my grand father elder brother Rai bahadur sardar bahadur capt sunder singh.He was among those ten commissioned officer ,who commissioned first time in india by britisher.He was the first sarpanch of mirthal village.His younger brother was commissioned as jamadar in 1914 a.d in british army .Later he retired as captain.Then my taya ji kanwar yudhvir singh guleria,he got commissioned in second world war but later he resigned,At last he become the sarpanch of village

  12. from my last lines,kanwar yudhvir singh guleria elected sarpanch for four terms,means he did sarpanchi for more than 20 yrs,he also elected as Block samti member,he also fight election of m.l.a as independent candidate.after him ,his cousin brother kanwar rameshwar singh elected sarpanch of Mirthal.My cousin brother kanwar kulwant singh elected member panchayat for 15 yrs.moreover I was panchayat member for one term.My elder brother kanwar Brij mohan singh was sarpanch for 15 yrs at changarwan ,talwara distt hosiarpur my maternal land is there.My nana ji was retired as chief conversative officer,j&k state at the time of maharaja hari singh,my naniji owned a1600 kila of land on his name.my nanaji name was mian onkar singh dadwal,he had very sophasticated weapon,which he later distributed to his nearer & dearer one.Then officer from my family ,my uncle retd col daljit singh ,col k.b singh and my chachaji retd xen krishan singh ,now settle at kullu.presently my brother is serving in indian army as colonel

  13. My brother colonel jagmohan is still in active service ,I faced s.s.b in 2000 ,but unfortunately was not commissioned,now i am working with a bank at pathankot.people’s used to call us as ‘Sardar’at mirthal.I hope that u people will like my family background.

  14. hi friends ,
    i am happy singh manhas from chak chimna (TAKI),sorry i do not know pawanesh but i know sango, bobby , kamal and sweety madam who teach me when i was in 1st / 2nd class in janta model school belongs to same family. sango and bobby they were senior to me as we are studied in mukerian a.s.s senior secondary school . i was not knowing their rich family history as they were very ground to earth and never told us. i have good friend in mirthal names bodh raj, gopal singh manhas , amit sharma , manish and sanjeev sharma( rana halbai rana sweet shop bus stand mirthal famous personalty ) and lots more. i do miss mirthal and my friend . i may visit in 2014 april..

  15. Hi,Happy ji,u have written that u don’t know,so,brother u recognise me by my face , offcourse ur younger brother know me, even ur respected late father saab was well known to me, Any how my nick name is sonu.I hope u recognise me easily now.

  16. Hi ,dosto mein mirthal ko bohut pasand karta ho .mera bachpan class iv ki padhai mirthal se ki hai jab mere papa army mein thee.now i am in assam

  17. Updation of my family:One of my nephew settle at U.S ,we r searching a girl for him

Leave a Reply

